External Timecode generator and Wings

Wings Vioso 5 and earlier versions.
Post Reply
sizikov
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:48 pm
Contact:

Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:45 pm

Dear Colleagues,

I want to ask you provide detailed information about synchronization of Wings Vioso project with external Timecode (SMPTE, MTC or LTC) generator.
Which parameters of different TC types does Wings support?
What I mean for example
- parameters of timecode signal (for SMPTE TC we support 25 fps, 44,1kHz, 8 bit etc, for LTC we support ...)
- input interfaces (for example , for SMPTE you can use MIDI , S/PDIF etc, ...)
....
Also i would be very greatful if you describe how should we set up our Wings project to work with external timecode generator. If we have different options for different types of TC, please provide these differences.
I know that you have info in Help file, but this info is not enough to set up the project right.

Thanks in advance for your help!
User avatar
Michael Eckschlager
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:09 am
Contact:

Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:54 pm

Dear Sizikov,

generally Wings Vioso is able to handle Midi timecode and therefore you can use the standard formats like 24, 25, 29.97 DF, 30 frame/s.
If you want to implement timecode in wings as slave the first step is to create a midi device port.
The second step is to open the properties of this midi port and select your connected midi device (eg. a Mif 4).
Also you can choose how you want to use your timecode exactly.
If you are unsure about the different meanings of the settings in this menu, take a look at the help (Timecode Help)..it's well documented there.
But if you still have some questions about some settings, feel free to reach out to us.
Now you can drag the configured midi port to the control panel (to check if there is an incoming timecode).
As last step enable the device ports! Otherwise the midi port still remains inactive and so no timecode can come in!

In the past you also had to change the device port in the "Timeline" settings to the created midi port that it will be synced to them, but now it's also possible to leave it on the "Audio" sync and so you can also play out Audio while the timecode is running.

You can also play out some timecode from Wings.
Therefore you just have to create an audio track in Wings and with a rightclick into it you are able to insert a smpte timecode signal.

According to our research you will get the best result with midi timecode if you use Wings Vioso RX instead of Wings Vioso 5!
If you have further questions, just let us know!
Best Regards from Austria
Michael Eckschlager
_____________________________________________________
AV STUMPFL GMBH | Michael Eckschlager | Technical Support
Mitterweg 46 | A-4702 Wallern | Tel +43(7249)42811
support@avstumpfl.com | www.AVstumpfl.com
sizikov
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:48 pm
Contact:

Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:36 pm

Michael,

Thank you for the detailed answer. Especialy, we're interested in LTC type. Can you describe how should we configure our server to work with it? And which interface can we use for it if we have RME HDSPe AIO audio card.
Thanks in advance!
User avatar
Michael Eckschlager
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:09 am
Contact:

Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:32 am

Dear Sizikov,

it's possible to use MIDI timecode!
Therefore if you are getting a LTC signal and you want to use it on your Wings Engine you have to convert it to a MIDI signal first.
That's as example possible with a MIF 4 (Rosendahl Mif4 ).
With that device it's also possible to use the usb port directly to send the signal to the wings engine instead of using the midi port.
Then, once it's a midi signal, setting up the project is the same as described above.
Best Regards from Austria
Michael Eckschlager
_____________________________________________________
AV STUMPFL GMBH | Michael Eckschlager | Technical Support
Mitterweg 46 | A-4702 Wallern | Tel +43(7249)42811
support@avstumpfl.com | www.AVstumpfl.com
sizikov
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:48 pm
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:13 am

Hi Michael!

Thanks for the detailed answer. But in Wings RX Changelog list you have this line - Issue: LTC timecode is not played correctly when using ASIO - please use WDM in this case.
If Wings engine supports LTC only through the USB MIDI converter than which WDM drivers do you mean? Or you mean WDM audio drivers when you plug in converter via MIDI cable?

Thanks in advance as always!
User avatar
Michael Eckschlager
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:09 am
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:42 am

Hi Sizikov,

with that line in the changelog we are speaking about playing out timecode from Wings.
So if you generate a timecode in Wings (as explained above) and you play it out via ASIO instead of WDM in the sound settings, it's not working correctly.

If you have further questions feel free to ask!
Best Regards from Austria
Michael Eckschlager
_____________________________________________________
AV STUMPFL GMBH | Michael Eckschlager | Technical Support
Mitterweg 46 | A-4702 Wallern | Tel +43(7249)42811
support@avstumpfl.com | www.AVstumpfl.com
Post Reply